STAFF NEWSLETTER TUSCARAWAS VALLEY LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT ROBERT FOGLER, INTERIM SUPERINTENDENT

HIGHLIGHTS OF BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING – June 13, 2005

Staff members in attendance were Mary Beth Markley, Deb Prochaska, Jim Lindon, Gail Hardwidge, Connie Hinerman, Lou Wiles, Therese Baker, Diana Flickinger, Jim Downing, Myron Sommers. Guests present were Katie Hinerman, Jake Gamber, Al Baker, Bonnie Dutka, Kelly Weaver and Barb Limbacher *(The Times Reporter)*.

Under **New Business**, the following action was taken:

Approved Minutes of the May 9, 2005 Regular Meeting, the May 2005 Financial Report and May 2005 Investments, Then/Now Certificates.

Approved FY06 Health Benefit Funding Premium Rates with OME-RESA as follows:

	2004-05	2005-06
Medical – Single	\$528.65	\$528.65
Medical – Family	\$1212.79	\$1212.79
Dental – Single	\$73.69	\$75.89 (2.99%)
Dental – Family	\$73.69	\$75.89 (2.99%)
Vision – Single	\$8.83	\$8.83
Vision – Family	\$23.97	\$23.97
Life Insurance	\$.125/\$1000	\$.155/\$1000

Employed Jacob Gamber as a high school math teacher (Step 0), pending verification of credentials.

Approved the following certificated staff transfers for SY05-06: Michelle Eddy from MC/NC Reading Intervention to MC 3rd Grade Theresa Shull from Bolivar 3rd Grade to Bolivar 2nd Grade Angela Thomas from Bolivar Special Education Intervention to Bolivar 3rd Grade

Employed Arien Wise as a MS summer school proficiency intervention teacher.

Granted the following supplemental contracts for SY05-06:

District Employees

Jennifer Gardner	Chaperone, 8 th Gr. Washington DC trip (Step 2)
Fran Mester	Chaperone, 8 th Gr. Washington DC trip (Step 0)
Kelly Stutzman	Chaperone, 8 th Gr. Washington DC trip (Step 1)

Non-Licensed Individuals

Cindy Brugger	Majorette Advisor (Volunteer)
Angela Hodous	Majorette/Flag Advisor (Step 0)
Natalie Hodous	Flag Line Advisor (Volunteer)
Rita Zwick	Drama Director (Step 14)

Approved the following band personnel for SY2005-06:

Frank Cramer Marching Band Conditioning Coach (Volunteer)

Mary Ellen Gooding Tri-M Co-Advisor (Volunteer)

Van Drivers: Merri Gensley, Wayne Gerber, Randy Harper, Larry Hennis, Clyde Ousley, Mike Whittenberger

Individualized/Group Instructors: Kim Charton, Louise Dietz, Beth Fuerstein, Matt Gerlach, Robert Lyon, Karen Stanfill

Chaperones: Brian/Susan Adams, Ivan/Susie Anderson, Thomas/Suzanna Barkett, Douglas/Norine Becker, Doug/Kathy Becknell, Ronald/Karma Burton, Jon/Connie Campbell, William/Dawn Cespedes, Jon/Kim Charton, Matt/Ava Dunn, Bill/Chris Emley, Elmer/Janice Fensler, Edward/Sharon Fredrick, Stan/Sue Gamber, Wayne/Barbara Gerber, Dave/Sally Green,

June 13, 2005

Larry/Tammy Gross, James/Toni Hafer, Joe/Vicki Hafer, Todd/Bev Handrich, Kenneth/Julie Haney, Randy/Anne Harper, Larry/Kathy Hennis, Nick Herron, Richard/Bethann Hinig, Ronald/Melanie Jones, Robert/Lona Keith, Doug/Leslie Ann Kendle, Jim Kopp, Carl/Nayda Koss, Richard Lane/Allison Smith, Brian/Nancy Logan, Mark/Diann Mansill, Richard/Jeanette Menegay, Arthur/Sherry Miller, James/Janie Miller, Robert/Susan Miller, Steve/Amy Mincks, Karin Mouser, Shawn Murphy, Victor/Deborah Neff, Shawn/Kristen Nelson, Clyde/Tina Ousley, Matt Pace, Dan/Kathy Page, Tom/Lisa Pariano, George/Annette Prokop, Richard/Christina Rich, Nelson/Marilyn Roder, Doug/Diane Roth, Amanda Rothacher, Robert/Anita Schott, Steve/Darlinda Schwartz, Floyd/Karen Stanfill, Randy/Deborah Stevens, Linda Shilts, Keith/Tami Stone, Steven/Jamie Stoneking, Gregg/Pat Strong, Cheryl Troyer, James/Jolien Wrana

Tabled OAPSE Reductions in Force for SY05-06.

Approved SY05-06 student fees for TVHS and TVMS.

Adopted handbooks for SY05-06 as follows: *Bus Drivers' Handbook, TVHS Band Handbook, TVMS Band Handbook.*

Renewed a Membership Agreement with ETSEO.

Recognized the following students for their accomplishments and achievements:
National Honor Society Inductees: Kyle Albaugh, Ashley Becknell, Melissa Bird,
Matt Company, Jeff Eckinger, Erica Elsasser, Holly Gintz, Claire Green, Matt Green,
Josh Gooding, Stan Guertal, Carina Haught, Nick Host, Bryce James, Michael Kane,
Emily Knapp, Samantha Kraus, Heath McAfee, Erin McCartney, Dan Mester, Cody Notz,
Jake Patton, Tessa Pohovey, Laura Reikowsky, Derek Varansky

1st Team PAC, Baseball: Kyle Albaugh, Matt Company

1st Team PAC, Softball: Audra McCoury, Tessa Pohovey. Audra was also named PAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and was awarded a \$1000 scholarship.

1st Team PAC, Track: Kayla Marburger (Shot), Deana Strong
State Qualifiers, Track: Nick Sayre, Deana Strong (both placed 12th in the state!)

Approved FY05 Appropriation Modifications.

Accepted lowest bid for roof replacement at Mineral City Elementary from Advanced Industrial Roofing, in the amount of \$83,165. **Accepted** lowest quote for roof repairs from Allied Commercial Roofing, in the amount of \$13,800. **Approved** a contract with Kenderson, Inc. for specification development and supervision of the roofing project at 5% of the lowest bid, with a minimum charge of \$1950.00.

Approved temporary appropriations for FY06.

Heard Second Reading and Adopted Policy Book Section 2000, *Programs* **Heard** First Reading of Policy Book Section 3000, *Professional Staff*

Heard Principal/Supervisor Reports.

Under **Public Participation**, Jim Lindon, Diana Flickinger and Dick Gooding spoke.

Scheduled a Special Meeting for June 27, 2005, at 6:30 PM for end-of-year business and policy approvals.