- I. The Regular Meeting of the Tuscarawas Valley Local Board of Education was called to order by President Susan Kaschak on Monday, March 8, 2010, at 7:02pm in TVHS Room 114.
 Roll call showed the following members present: Mr. Gooding, yes; Mrs. Green, no; Mr. Knaack, yes; Mr. Tritt, yes; Mrs. Kaschak, yes.
- II. **Public Participation** ~ There was no Public Participation at this time.

III. Superintendent's Report

- ~ TV Intermediate Have a Heart, Do Your Part: Mrs. Flickinger, Abby Ernst, Daliss Vaughan
- ~ Trojan Pride Award: Willard Himes
- ~ TV Science Fair Best in Show winner: Tyler Kubina, for his project The Identification of Human Pathogens in Commercially Available Cigarettes

IV. Executive Session

Mr. Gooding moved, Mr. Knaack seconded, and all members voted yes, to go into Executive Session for the purpose of the employment and compensation of employees. Time: 7:30pm.

The Tuscarawas Valley Local Board of Education returned from Executive Session at 8:40pm. Roll call showed all members present.

V. New Business/Consent Agenda

- A. Mr. Knaack moved, Mr. Tritt seconded, and all members voted yes, to approve the following Superintendent recommendations:
 - 1. Minutes from the February 8, 2010 Regular Meeting, February 2010 Financial Reports, and February 2010 Investments and Then/Now Certificates as follows:

Company	Amount	Purpose
Tuscarawas Co. Water & Sewer	\$1,105.26	District Water & Sewer services
East Central Ohio ESC	\$7,706.46	Star Alternative School

2. Appropriation Modifications as follows:

Acct.	Description	Prior	Change	Total
019	Local Grants	\$98,701.08	\$2,990.00	\$101,691.08

3. Transportation, Custodial/Maintenance Supervisor's Salary Schedule as follows:

Years' Experience:	0-2	Mechanic Salary Schedule Step:	10
	3-5		15
	6-9		20
	10-11		23
	12+		25

4. Supplemental contracts for SY09-10 as follows, pending receipt of all required certification:

Certificated Employees

Jessica Goehring Co-MS Girls' Track (Step 0/\$1065.56)

Non-Employees

Ron Lampe MS Boys' Track (Step 19/\$3267.73)

Mike Watt Co-MS Girls' Track (Step 0/\$1065.56)

- 5. TVHS Registration Guide for SY2010-2011.
- 6. Donations as follows:
 - ~ \$250.00 from the Tuscarawas Valley Ruritan Club for the purpose of purchasing scholastic awards to TV Middle School and TV High School
 - $\sim \$50.00$ from Sparta Steel & Equipment Corp. to the TVHS Athletic Department
- 7. Martha Holden Jennings grant in the amount of \$2,990.00 as submitted by Debra Wolfe, Curriculum Coordinator, for Morphology Study Using WORDBUILD.
- 8. Request from the Bolivar Baseball-Softball Association to use two fields at TV Intermediate and the softball/baseball fields at TV High School for their 2010 season. Use of school facilities shall not interfere with any scheduled school events, areas in use will be maintained, trash will be picked up, and proof of liability insurance will be provided before using school facilities.
- Recognition of students for their achievements and accomplishments as follows:
 TVHS January Students of the Month: Amber Neading (Gr.12), Ben McCoury (Gr.10)
 TVHS February Students of the Month: Zach Marzilli (Gr.11), Maddison McCoury (Gr.9)

TV Science Fair

Best in Show Tyler Kubina
Top Junior Project Ashley Cipar
Top Sophomore Project Tyler West
Top Freshman Project Jamie Walter

Top High School Team Shawna Grimes/Layla Spore

Best 8th Grade Project Ali Picard
Best 7th Grade Project Julian Levengood
Best Middle School Team Project Joe Simon/Cody Steffl

Superior project winners: Juniors Ashley Cipar, Shawna Grimes, Tyler Kubina, Vivian Lin, Dave Picard, Christian Splitt, Layla Spore; Sophomores Rachel Beach, Danielle Dallas, Sarah Digirolamo, Kyle Finlayson, Matt Gamber, Nick Gamber, Paige Mariani, Sam Owen, Shanna Skirtich, Tyler West; Freshmen Cassandra Ervin-Miller, Rachel Homan, Todd Locker, Austin Mizer, Jerrod Ousley, Josiah Pugh, Thomas Watt, Jamie Walter, Lauren Weisgarber, Raya Williamson; 8th Graders Katie Ackerman, Kym Cline, Kaley Coss, Nick Gauding, Patrick Helwig, Kelly Hull, Ali Picard, Joe Simon, Cody Steffl, Kayla Varansky, Alex Watson; 7th Graders Abby Ackerman, Morgan Blacka, Zach Dozier, Dakota Kirtley, Nora Lake, Julian Levengood, Joe Smith, Erin Weisgarber, Lucas Whitmer, Kendall Ziegler

TVHS Academic Challenge Team Second Place winners in the NBC League

tournament, defeating Canton South, Tuslaw, and Fairless, and finishing their season with a record of 9-2. The team's upcoming March match with Canton Central Catholic and St. Martin will be broadcast by Channel 5 in May.

TVHS Interact Club Coordinated high school and middle

school fundraisers to raise money for Haiti relief. HS/MS students donated \$1,000 toward the purchase of Shelter

Boxes for earthquake victims.

Girls' Varsity Basketball PAC & Sectional Champions

Shannon Watson, T-R $Female\ Athlete$

of the Week

Boys' Varsity Wrestling Luke Wojcicki, Andrew Hopwood

Sectional Title Winners, State Qualifiers

8th Grade Boys' Basketball PAC Champions for the 2nd consecutive

year, with a perfect record of 16-0

TV Primary School students & Participants in the 2010 Akron Children's TV Intermediate School students Hospital/WKDD Radiothon fundraiser,

Hospital/WKDD Radiothon fundraiser, *Have a Heart – Do Your Part*, raising over \$1900. The Radiothon donated a total of

nearly \$500,000 to the hospital!

B. Mr. Knaack moved, Mr. Gooding seconded, and all members voted yes, to grant 3-year Administrators' Limited contracts, effective August 1, 2010-July 31, 2013, to Diana Flickinger, Susan Huth, and Mary Beth Markley at the appropriate step of the Administrators' Salary Schedule.

- C. Mr. Gooding moved, Mr. Knaack seconded, and all members voted yes, to grant a 3-year Supervisor's Limited contract, effective August 1, 2010-July 31, 2013, to Jim Downing at the appropriate step of the Transportation, Custodian/Maintenance Supervisor's Salary Schedule.
- D. Mr. Gooding moved, Mr. Knaack seconded, and all members voted yes, to non-renew a 1-year Supervisor's Limited contract for Gail Hardwidge, effective July 31, 2010.

V. Principals/Supervisors Reports

Mrs. Mary Beth Markley, TV Primary Mrs. Diana Flickinger, TV Intermediate Mr. Tim McCrate, TV Middle School Mrs. Susan Huth, TV High School

Mr. Jim Downing, Transportation, Buildings/Grounds Supervisor

VI. Adjournment

Mr. Knaack moved, Mr. Tritt seconded, and all members voted yes, to adjourn said meeting. Time: 8:50pm.

Susan Kaschak, President	Kellie A. Lester, Treasurer
Tuscarawas Valley Local Board of Education	Tuscarawas Valley Local School District

		Kaschak	Gooding	Green	Knaack	Tritt
		P	P	A	P	P
3/1/10	Executive Session	Y	Y(1)		Y(2)	Y
3/2/10	A.	Y	Y		Y(1)	Y(2)
3/3/10	B.	Y	Y(2)		Y(1)	Y
3/4/10	C.	Y	Y(1)		Y(2)	Y
3/5/10	D.	Y	Y(1)		Y(2)	Y
3/6/10	Adjournment	Y	Y		Y(1)	Y(2)

Staff members in attendance were Jim Downing, Jim Lindon, Mary Beth Markley, Diana Flickinger. Guests present were Kylie Tritt, Willard/Jane Himes, Cindy/Tyler Kubina, Barb Limbacher (*The Times Reporter*).